
Dear Applicant,  

The Vermont Emergency Rental Assistance Program (VERAP) is issuing this letter on your behalf as 
certification that you have been preliminarily approved for funding from the Vermont Emergency Rental 
Assistance Program (VERAP).  A signed one-year lease is required before VERAP funds can be issued for 
payment or reimbursement.  Households must meet the Program eligibility requirements of VERAP to 
qualify for Other Expenses Related to Housing. 

Benefit: 

Rent: 

Rent is currently calculated using the Fair Market Rent (FMR). The addressed applicant is preliminarily 
approved for the following:    

• Fair Market Rent Amount:

• Unit with the following number of bedrooms:

• Unit in the following Vermont County:

For a complete list of FMR by Vermont county, visit 
https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/fmr/fmrs/FY2022_code/select_Geography.odn . Please note, 
the FMR may not be the final amount of rent benefit.  Given a signed lease, VERAP will be able to pay 
the rent and other appropriate move-in costs for the unit. VERAP will be able to pay this rate up to a 12-

Vermont Emergency Rental Assistance Program 
PO Box 199
Manchester, VT 05254-0998
833-4VT-ERAP (833-488-3727)

Date Issued: Applicant ID:

https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/fmr/fmrs/FY2022_code/select_Geography.odn


month period given ongoing renter eligibility and availability of program funding. Eligibility 
requirements can be found at: https://erap.vsha.org/renter-eligibility/ . 

This Letter of Intent is valid for 90 days from the date of issue. 

If you have any questions, please call the Vermont Emergency Rental Assistance Call Center at 833-488-
3727 (833-4VT-ERAP). The center is open from 8:30 am to 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday, and 9:00 
am to 1:00 pm on Saturday. 

Sincerely, 

https://erap.vsha.org/renter-eligibility/


VERAP 

Other Expenses Related to Housing 

Money to Move: 

Includes first month’s rent and other expenses related to housing if the applicant has a signed one-year 
lease. Money to Move is a benefit for households relocating to a new unit, which may incorporate 
payments from Other Expenses Related to Housing, including:  

• Security deposits (first and last month’s rent, if required)
• Pet deposits
• Advanced Rent required by the landlord
• Utility connection fees (electricity, propane, water, sewer, internet)
• Application and screening fees
• Reasonable costs associated with moving:

o Truck rental to move to new unit.
o Post Office Box deposit
o Settling cost for storage unit

Households must meet other housing and income requirements described earlier in this Plan to qualify 
for other expenses. 

• All reimbursements or payments must be accompanied by supporting documentation such as a
bill, invoice, or evidence of payment to a provider for service(s).

• Only households that receive rent or utility assistance are eligible for Internet expenses.
o Best efforts will be made to compensate for Internet services and no other related

expenses such as telephone service or cable. If the specific Internet costs cannot be
determined, VERAP approves a flat fee of $50 per month for Internet services provided
after April 1,2020.

• Household must attest that they have not received assistance through AHS’ Rapid Resolution
Program for the same benefit / period.

• Landlord and tenant must agree to a one-year lease term.
• An applicant must provide a copy of the executed lease to show the applicant is a renter.



Next Steps (Tenant): 

VERAP Applicant Portal: 

In the Program Portion of the VERAP Applicant Portal (https://erap.vsha.org/), you will need to answer 
all applicable questions in the Other Expenses Related to Housing section. This includes amounts for 
Other Expenses Related to Housing. You will also need to upload a copy of the proposed/signed lease. 

Next Steps (Owner, Landlord, Property Manager, Vendor): 

VERAP Owner Portal: 

If you are not registered in the VERAP Owner Portal, please visit here (https://erap.vsha.org/landlord-
information/). Follow the steps to make an account including uploading a signed W-9 and Direct Deposit 
form. 

If you are registered in the VERAP Owner Portal, once the tenant completes the Other Expenses Related 
to Housing section of the VERAP Application, including uploading a proposed lease, you will be “linked” 
together. You will then need to log into your Owner Portal and complete the VERAP Unit Certification 
for the unit. If you are already “linked” together, you can update Unit Certifications as necessary. 
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