

SECRETARY OF THE TREASURY

May 20, 2013

The Honorable John A. Boehner Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

I am writing to notify you, as required under 5 U.S.C. § 8348(I)(2), of my determination that, by reason of the statutory debt limit, I will be unable to fully invest the portion of the Civil Service Retirement and Disability Fund (CSRDF) not immediately required to pay beneficiaries and that a "debt issuance suspension period" will begin on Monday, May 20, 2013, and last until August 2, 2013, the last day that Congress is expected to be in session before Labor Day. With these determinations, the Treasury Department will suspend additional investments of amounts credited to, and redeem a portion of the investments held by, the CSRDF, as authorized by law. In addition, because the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006 provides that investments in the Postal Service Retiree Health Benefits Fund (PSRHBF) shall be made in the same manner as investments for the CSRDF, the Treasury Department will suspend additional investments of amounts credited to the PSRHBF.

My predecessors have declared "debt issuance suspension periods" during previous debt limit impasses. By law, the CSRDF and PSRHBF will be made whole once the debt limit is increased. Federal retirees and employees will be unaffected by these actions.

I respectfully urge Congress to protect America's good credit and avoid the potentially catastrophic consequences of failing to act by increasing the debt limit in a timely fashion.

Sincerely,

Jacob J. Lew

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Leader
The Honorable Harry Reid, Senate Majority Leader
The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Senate Republican Leader

cc: The Honorable Dave Camp, Chairman, House Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Sander M. Levin, Ranking Member, House Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Max Baucus, Chairman, Senate Committee on Finance
The Honorable Orrin Hatch, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Finance
All other Members of the 113th Congress