Minutes of the Commission on Social Impact Partnerships (Commission) Public Meeting via Conference Call Monday, October 28, 2019

Commission Members Participating:

Paul Bradford Edgerley, Commission Chair
Donald Cohen
Kimberley Lee
Jeremy Keele
James Sullivan
Mathew Weidinger
Anne Wilson
Harlan Yu

Treasury Officers and Staff Participating:

Daniel Kowalski, Counselor to the Secretary

Michael Faulkender, Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy

Kathleen Victorino, Program Manager, Social Impact Partnerships to Pay for Results Act (SIPPRA)

Holly Posin, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the Commission, Office of Economic Policy William Girardo, Policy Advisor, Office of Economic Policy

Elizabeth Sawyer, Research Assistant, Office of Microeconomic Analysis, Office of Economic Policy

Christopher Blickley, Attorney-Advisor, Office of the Assistant General Counsel (Banking & Finance)

Welcome and Opening Remarks

The meeting commenced at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time. Holly Posin, DFO, called the teleconference meeting to order. She informed the public that the Commission is comprised of nine (9) members, however, one (1) resigned in September and the remaining eight (8) met at the October 28, 2019 meeting.

Members of the Commission and Treasury officers and staff supporting SIPPRA introduced themselves.

Application Review Process

Kathy Victorino provided an update on the status of the review of applications for SIPPRA awards described in detail in the Notice of Funding Availability dated February 21, 2019 (NOFA). The applications considered at the meeting were culled from the original group of twenty (21) submissions. The October 28, 2019 marked an important milestone: the first set of SIPPRA funding recommendations by the Commission. To make award determinations after this

meeting, the Secretary of the Treasury (Secretary) will consider (1) the Commission's recommendations, (2) the Federal Interagency Council on Social Impact Partnerships' recommendations, and (3) U.S. Department of the Treasury (Treasury) staff recommendations. Following the Secretary's award determination, Treasury expects to finalize a grant agreement for each applicant.

The Commission considered nine (9) applications for funding recommendations at the meeting. Ms. Victorino provided high level descriptions of each application and explained that the applications were discussed in greater detail during the Commission's October 9, 2019 meeting. More descriptive project overviews prepared for the Commission's October 9, 2019 meeting are available to the public through the Treasury Library.

Prior to this meeting, the Commission was divided into two subcommittees to analyze the applications in detail.

Commission Recommendations

The Commission Chair, Paul Edgerley, gave an overview of the Commission's evaluation process and guiding principles.

At Mr. Edgerley's request,

- Anne Wilson presented subcommittee #1's suggestions for awards:
 - o State of New York Energy Research and Development Authority;
 - o City and County of Denver, Colorado;
 - o County of Ventura, California; and
 - o Municipality of Anchorage, Alaska; and
- Matthew Weidinger presented subcommittee #2's suggestions for awards:
 - o New York City Mayor's Office of Criminal Justice;
 - o City of Spartanburg, South Carolina;
 - o Indiana State Department of Health; and
 - o Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services.

Mr. Edgerley noted that the application from High Desert Education Service District in Oregon was not suggested for a Commission award recommendation. The Commission did not discuss the High Desert Education Service District application further.

Mr. Edgerley noted that Jeremy Keele was recused from consideration of the applications for the County of Ventura, California and the City of Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Mr. Edgerley proposed the following slate of applications for consideration by the Commission:

- State of New York Energy Research and Development Authority;
- City and County of Denver, Colorado;
- Municipality of Anchorage, Alaska;
- New York City Mayor's Office of Criminal Justice;

- Indiana State Department of Health; and
- Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services.

The Commission deliberated the first slate of applications. Mr. Edgerley requested a motion for a vote to recommend that the Secretary fund each application on the slate. Ms. Wilson made the motion. Mr. Edgerley requested each Commission Member's vote, one by one, on the slate. The Commission voted unanimously (8-0) to recommend that the Secretary fund each application on the first slate.

Mr. Keele then recused himself from consideration of the applications for the County of Ventura, California and the City of Spartanburg, South Carolina by dropping off the teleconference line.

Mr. Edgerley the proposed the following slate of applications for consideration by the Commission:

- County of Ventura, California; and
- City of Spartanburg, South Carolina.

The Commission deliberated the second slate of applications. Mr. Edgerley requested a motion for a vote to recommend that the Secretary fund each application on the slate. Donald Cohen made the motion. Mr. Edgerley requested each Commission Member's vote, one by one, on the slate. The Commission voted unanimously (7-0) to recommend that the Secretary fund each application on the second slate.

Ms. Victorino reiterated that the Commission recommendations are one input into Treasury's award determination process.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:28 p.m Eastern Time.

Paul Edgerly