International Monetary Fund

The Treasury Department leads the U.S. Government's engagement in the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The IMF is an organization of 189 member countries that works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The Secretary of the Treasury serves as the U.S. Governor to the IMF, and the U.S. Executive Director of the IMF is one of 24 directors who exercise voting rights over the strategic direction of the institution. The U.S. is the largest shareholder in the Fund.


U.S. Votes on IMF Country PrograMS

Following are links to the U.S. vote records since 2004. They show the program country, amount, type of program, and the U.S. position on the program.


Reports to Congress on IMF ActivitiES

As requested, the Treasury Department provides Congress with reports on IMF activities and related issues. Following are links to reports on various topics.