The CARES Act Provides Assistance for State, Local, and Tribal Governments

Through the Coronavirus Relief Fund, the CARES Act provides for payments to State, Local, and Tribal governments navigating the impact of the COVID-19 outbreak.

The CARES Act established the $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund.

Treasury will make payments from the Fund to States and eligible units of local government; the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories (the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands); and Tribal governments (collectively “governments”).

The CARES Act requires that the payments from the Coronavirus Relief Fund only be used to cover expenses that—

(1) are necessary expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency with respect to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID–19);

(2) were not accounted for in the budget most recently approved as of March 27, 2020 (the date of enactment of the CARES Act) for the State or government; and

(3) were incurred during the period that begins on March 1, 2020, and ends on December 30, 2020.

Guidance on eligible uses of Fund disbursements by governments is available below.

Amounts paid to States, the District of Columbia, U.S. Territories, and eligible units of local government are based on population as provided in the CARES Act.  The CARES Act directs Treasury to use U.S. Census Bureau data for the most recent year for which data is available.  The amount of payments made to each State will be reduced by the aggregate amount of payments that will be disbursed to eligible local governments within such State that have provided the required certifications to Treasury.  Additional information on these points can be accessed below.

A unit of local government eligible for receipt of direct payment includes a county, municipality, town, township, village, parish, borough, or other unit of general government below the State level with a population that exceeds 500,000.  Eligible local governments must submit the certification required by the CARES Act to Treasury by the deadline set forth below in order to receive payment. 

Payments to Tribal Governments are to be determined by the Secretary of the Treasury in consultation with the Secretary of the Interior and Indian Tribes. Additional information on payments to Tribal governments is available under Coronavirus Relief Fund Tribal Allocation Methodology, below.

Treasury began making payments to tribal governments based on population on May 5, 2020, and has made payments to all Indian tribes submitting correct payment information other than Alaska Native corporations. 

Instructions regarding the information that tribal governments are required to submit through the electronic form are available under Tribal Employment and Expenditure Submission Instructions below.  Access to the electronic form has been provided to tribal entities that need to submit supplemental information.  The deadline for electronic submissions to be accepted has been extended until 12:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time on Friday, May 29, 2020.  The required information should not be submitted to Treasury other than through the electronic form.  Only applications completed through the electronic form will be accepted.