Looking for homeowner assistance?

Homeowners can find out what homeowner assistance covers, how it works, and who’s eligible on the interagency housing portal hosted by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).


The Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) provides funding to government entities to assist homeowners who have been financially impacted by COVID-19 to pay their mortgage and other qualified expenses related to mortgages and housing.

These programs are often offered through the state or territory’s housing finance agencies or through Tribally Designated Housing Entities (TDHEs).


Treasury is authorized under the American Rescue Plan to provide a HAF award to: 

  • States,
  • U.S. Territories
  • Tribes or their TDHEs
  • Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL)

HAF programs distribute assistance to eligible homeowners to cover qualified expenses related to mortgages and housing.

Depending on the program, homeowners may use the HAF assistance for expenses such as, mortgage payments (including past-due payments), property taxes, homeowner’s insurance, homeowners’ association fees, utilities (such as, electricity, gas, home energy, water, and wastewater), internet service, and certain home repairs. 

Find out more information about how HAF programs work on the interagency housing portal hosted by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). 

Find out how homeowner assistance works

Find homeowner assistance

View information about how to connect with homeowner assistance near you.


If you require a reasonable accommodation or communication access services such as Communication Access Real-Time Translation (CART) or sign language interpreters in order to access a Homeowner Assistance Fund program, please contact ReasonableAccommodationRequests@treasury.gov.

Please submit sign language interpreter requests at least five days in advance of any interaction with a Homeowner Assistance Program.


To file a program discrimination complaint about a Homeowner Assistance Fund, send your complaint to:

Director, Office of Civil Rights and Diversity

1500 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W.
Washington, DC 20220

What the Department of the Treasury will do to ensure nondiscrimination

The Department of the Treasury will conduct investigations of civil rights complaints of discrimination based on race, color, national origin, disability, age, or sex, filed against recipients of financial assistance under any of its financial assistance programs, and will conduct pre- and post-award compliance reviews. If discrimination or noncompliance is found, the Department of the Treasury can defer action on an application for federal financial assistance, issue a cautionary letter, or as an ultimate consequence deny funding. Independently of any possible actions to be taken by the Department of the Treasury, courts have interpreted that Title VI of the Civil Rights Act and other applicable federal civil rights statutes provide a private right of action.


The Office of Inspector General offers the following guidance, which is also available at:

Report Fraud, Waste, and Abuse | Office of Inspector General (treasury.gov).

To program applicants receiving benefits from States, the District of Columbia (DC), U.S. Territories, Tribes, Tribally Designated Housing Entities (TDHEs), or the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL):

Report Fraud, Waste and Abuse to Treasury


The purpose of the Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) is to prevent mortgage delinquencies and defaults, foreclosures, loss of utilities or home energy services, and displacement of homeowners experiencing financial hardship after January 21, 2020.

Learn more about funding to states, U.S. Territorial, Tribes or their TDHEs, and the DHHL Under the Homeowner Assistance Fund.